Picture
For years I lived in Zambia and craved good ice-cream, there was one restaurant that used to sell good chocolate sundaes but even they suddenly stopped much to my disappointment.  Well, now things have changed... we have an ice-cream maker (actually a wedding present from my brother that only just made it out to Zambia) and a MasterChef cookbook and they are fantastic!  In fact we even have a food processor (a gift from Gemma's parents) so we are in full swing.  To the left is a picture of the richest, yummiest dessert I have ever made, let me talk you through it...  At the bottom is a chocolate rice-crispie cake made with chocolate and condensed milk, on top of that is chocolate mousse - but I don't think I whipped the cream enough when making it and so it was a little runnier than intended (If you have a MasterChef Kitchen Bible you can check out the recipe on page 214).  Anyway, seeing as the glass was still half-empty (I chose to look at it that way) I decided to add some of my homemade Indian Ice-cream as an extra layer and then added yet another layer of chocolate/coffee sorbet.  I have a good Ice-cream recipe book that I am also working my way through by the way.  Don't get me wrong, while our freezer does have 3 different types of ice-cream in it currently (the latest being extreme chocolate) I have only spent about £6 so far and am only eating any of it when we have guests for dinner which is less than once a week on average!  The point is I am loving my new toys and books!!

Picture
This weekend I also enjoyed trying out a telescopic fishing rod that Gemma's dad gave me. I don't have a great record on catching fish but on Sunday enjoyed some success.  I still want to catch much bigger fish but for just an hour's effort I felt that the 2 I caught were good enough.  Though small, they were big enough to grill and eat.  Actually there was enough for 6 of us to all have a taste.  Trying to gut them did appreciate afresh my mum's efforts in preparing 20 Mackrel that we caught sea-fishing when I was about 11 or 12.. she prepared them all in our tent with just a butter knife and a bowl of water!!  I still have many skills to learn, but it's a good start.

Frances pons
3/3/2012 04:08:53 pm

very impressive! Sounds like you are having a good time.

Reply



Leave a Reply.