When we came home last year it would be fair to say that we were exhausted. The last two years have been draining physically, spiritually and emotionally. We'd been living life as a sprint. It doesn't take a genius to work out that you can't live life that way.
In coming back to Zambia we have stepped into a new role, I guess a new season in life. Life is still relatively busy, but we're living it at a slower and more realistic pace. We made a clear decision to take time to rest, a conscious decision to not do any work at a weekend. Not leading teams means we no longer have the 24/7 weight of responsibility hanging over us, and is actually rather liberating!
I've set myself the challenge of reading the whole Bible this year, which I'm enjoying, but it was when I was reading Exodus and the 10 commandments"Remembering the Sabbath" really stood out to me. Exodus 20:8-11 talks about the Sabbath, and mostly, for whatever reason, I've focused on the keeping it holy part and somehow over looked the resting part. Resting is part of the commandments. I was thinking about this and felt I should encourage people I know in this area. Life needs to have balance and resting is part of that. It is all to easy to be busy all the time, filling our life with 'stuff' to do. I want to learn the art of truly  resting. I don't just mean sitting with a cuppa with your feet up, or some kind of escapism, more 'being still'. 
Psalm 46:10 says "Be still and know that I am God". Take time, stop and acknowledge who God is. Rest in His presence. Be refreshed in His presence, finding strength in Him. Equally taking time to rest, not being consumed by 'stuff'

Maybe this is just a jumbled rambling of some thoughts.





Leave a Reply.