Vision

28/10/2011

0 Comments

 
A certain man was taken by his friend on an exploratory drive outside the city away from where anybody lived. They left the main road and drove for a while until they found a secluded and seemingly insignificant expanse of land. A few tired shacks remained, and some animals grazed peacefully. The friend, Walter, turned off the engine and got out of the vehicle. He started visualising and describing the incredible plans he had to develop the area. He was offering his friend Arthur the opportunity to buy the surrounding land and make a killing in the process.

But to Arthur it seemed ludicrous. He questioned Walter “Who on earth is going to drive 25 miles into the middle of nowhere for this absurd project? The logistics of the venture are mind-blowing.” Walter explained to Arthur, “I can take care of the main project myself. But it’ll use up all my money. This land bordering it, where we’re standing now, will in just a couple of years be jam-packed with hotels, restaurants and convention halls to accommodate the people who’ll come to spend their  entire vacation here at my park. I want you to have the first chance at this surrounding acreage, because in the next 5 years it’ll increase in value several hundred times.”

Looking  back on the offer, Arthur reminisced, “What could I say? I knew he was wrong. I knew that he had let this dream get the best of his common sense, so I mumbled something about a tight money situation and I promised that I’d look into the whole thing a little later on.”

As they returned to the car, Walter sighed and warned Arthur, “Later on will be too late. You’d better move on it right now.”

And that is how Art Linkletter missed out on the opportunity to buy up all the land that surrounded what was to become Disneyland. His friend Walk Disney tried to talk him into sharing the dream, but Art thought he was crazy.’

This made me think a lot about vision- where do I see various aspects of my life going? What is the vision God has given for it? How is the vision being out worked? Am I dreaming big enough?

What about you? 




Leave a Reply.